you're reading...
Issues In The News

President Jonathan Inaugurates (Terror) Victims Support Fund Commitee

President Goodluck Jonathan has inaugurated the Victim Support Fund established by the Federal Government to take care of victims of terrorism and violence across the country.

Donations can be made here: http://victimsupportfund.ng/donate/

According to the President, he said  terrorism will be defeated in Nigeria the same way it is defeated in other parts of the world, insisting that if they could not win the people of the Middle East, United States among others, they will not succeed in Nigeria

The Coordinator of the National Information Center, Mr. Mike Omeri, disclosed this in an interview with Channels Television’s in Abuja on Monday.

He told the correspondent that the Federal Government had set aside $30m to endow the fund while the committee would work out the modalities for mobilising more funds from the private sector.

Omeri, who is also the Director General of the National Orientation Agency, said children and spouses of soldiers who were victims of terrorism in all parts of the country would also benefit from the fund.

“Everybody who qualifies to benefit from the fund can apply and be assisted depending on the procedure to be worked out by the committee,” he said.

The decision to establish the fund was reportedly taken to the National Council of States in Abuja last week.

President Jonathan, who was speaking while inaugurating the T.Y Danjuma led committee, called on all Nigerians to support his administration and pledged his unwavering determination  to provide succor to victims of terror.

Omeri said that given the experience garnered by the Federal Government in raising funds for victims of floods in the past, it is going to do better in raising funds for the victims of terrorism in the country.

Committee On Victims Support Fund

In her effort to scale up support for victims of insurgency and terror attacks nationwide, the Nigerian Government has constituted a Committee on Victims Support Fund to mobilize resources and administer appropriate support to victims of insurgency and Boko Haram terror activities all over the country.

Accordingly, the President, Dr. Goodluck Jonathan, has approved the composition and appointment of members of the Committee on Victims Support Funds as follows:

  1. Gen. TY Danjuma, GCON         –        Chairman
  2. Mr. Fola Adeola                           –           Deputy Chairman
  3. Alh. Mohammed Indimi             –           Member
  4. Alh. Abdulsamad I. Rabiu           –           Member
  5. Alh. Sani Dauda             –           Member
  6. Mrs. Folorunsho Alakija       –           Member
  7. Mr. Cosmas Maduka       –           Member
  8. Mr. Jim Ovia      –           Member
  9. Mr. Wale Tinubu         –           Member
  10. Alh. Sani Sidi, DG, National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA)          –           Member
  11. Air Vice Marshal Tony Omenyi (Representing Defence Headquarters)     –           Member
  12. CP Salisu Fagge, representing Nigerian Police Force       –           Member
  13. Mr. Sayana Yusuf, representing Department of State Services                  –           Member
  14. Chief Uche Secondus, PDP Deputy National Chairman (South)                 –           Member
  15. Alh. Tijani Tunsah, APC Deputy National Chairman (North)                    –           Member
  16. Representative of Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) –          Member
  17. Representative of Jamaatul Nasril Islam (JNI)                 –           Member
  18. Chief(Mrs.) Nkechi Mba, Representing National Council of Women Societies    –   Member
  19. Prof. Ben Angwe, Executive Secretary, National Human Rights Commission (NHRC)  – Member
  20. Representative of the United Nations (UN)                 –           Member
  21. Representative of Department for International Development (DFID)     –     Member
  22. Representative of Unites States Agency for International Development (USAID) – Member
  23. Representative of International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)           –           Member
  24. Alh. Balarabe Musa, Representing Conference of Nigerian Political Parties (CNPP) – Member
  25. Two (2) Representatives of Local Civil society/Youth Groups (Male & Female) –           Members.
  26. Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF)     –     Secretariat

According to the press release by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Anyim Pius Anyim, the Committee would be inaugurated by the President on Wednesday, July 16, 2014 by 10.00am at the Council Chamber, Aso Villa, Abuja.



About TransformationWatch

TransformationWatch is an online news site founded by Henry Omoregie It is focused on keeping tabs on the Transformation Agenda set out by the Nigerian leadership in the Local, State and Federal Governments. My mission is to observe, analyze and report milestones or slowdowns in promised service delivery in all the facets of governance in Nigeria (2011 and beyond). Readership is open to all Nigerians and friends of Nigeria alike, regardless of Tribe, Religion or Political divide. We are all in this together


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

TransformationWatch on Twitter

%d bloggers like this: